Skip to main content
ARS Home » News & Events » News Articles » Research News » 2010 » ARS Scientists Honored for Technology Transfer Efforts

Archived Page

This page has been archived and is being provided for reference purposes only. The page is no longer being updated, and therefore, links on the page may be invalid.

ARS Scientists Honored for Technology Transfer Efforts

ARS scientist with bioreactor used for removing nitrates from swine effluent. Link to photo information
ARS researchers have invented a bioreactor that removes nitrates from swine effluent, allowing the livestock wastewater to be recycled for irrigation. Click the image for more information about it.

For further reading

By Ann Perry
June 8, 2010

The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) will recognize some of its most innovative scientists and research partners at the agency’s Technology Transfer Awards Program here today. These awards recognize individuals or groups who have done outstanding work in transferring technology to users outside ARS, the principal intramural scientific research agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

“ARS places great importance on making sure that our findings don’t just languish in the laboratory, but are translated into useful products that benefit consumers,” said Edward B. Knipling, ARS administrator. “The winners of this year’s technology transfer awards represent outstanding examples of that commitment in the areas of animal health, natural resources management, food product development, and food safety.”

Top honors for outstanding technology transfer will be presented to two ARS research teams:

  • Two ARS scientists and their research partner are being recognized for technology transfer to countless laboratories worldwide that use the QuEChERS—Quick, Easy, Cheap, Effective, Rugged and Safe—approach to monitor pesticides and other residues in foods. This team includes Steven Lehotay and Katerina Mastovska, ARS Eastern Regional Research Center, Wyndmoor, Pa.; and Michelangelo Anastassiades, Stuttgart, Germany.

Awards honoring superior efforts in technology transfer will be presented to:

  • George E. Inglett, ARS Functional Foods Research Unit,Peoria, Ill., for outstanding accomplishments in the invention and technology transfer of the multi-functional food ingredient Z-Trim, which contributes to healthier foods for people around the world.
  • The Industrial Microwave System Technology Team, a partnership between ARS, North Carolina State University, and Industrial Microwave Systems, which developed and transferred a novel continuous flow microwave heating process for producing large containers of aseptic, shelf-stable vegetable and fruit purees. The team includes Van Den Truong, ARS Food Science Research Unit, Raleigh, N.C.; Josip Simunovic, Ken Swartzel, K. P. Sandeep, Pablo Coronel, Gary Cartwright, Prabhat Kumar, and Laurie Steed, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; and David Parrott, Industrial Microwave Systems, Morrisville, N.C.