Skip to main content
ARS Home » News & Events » News Articles » Research News » 2000 » USDA Honors ARS Employees in Annual Awards Ceremony

Archived Page

This page has been archived and is being provided for reference purposes only. The page is no longer being updated, and therefore, links on the page may be invalid.

USDA Honors ARS Employees in Annual Awards Ceremony

By Sharon Durham
June 5, 2000

WASHINGTON, June 5, 2000--Agriculture Secretary Dan Glickman today honored 61 Agricultural Research Service employees in the 54th annual U.S. Department of Agriculture Honor Awards ceremony.

“Nothing at USDA has impressed me more than the dedication of our workforce,”

Glickman said. “The Honor Awards are a tribute to our employees for their diligence, commitment, and sacrifice in carrying out their responsibilities and serving the American people.”

Glickman presented plaques to the ARS employees and other awardees at a 1 p.m. ceremony in the Ronald Reagan International Trade Center here. ARS is the USDA’s chief scientific research agency.

“It is with great pride and gratitude that we honor these award recipients,” ARS Administrator Floyd Horn said. “The scientific research they have conducted has led to increased yield and nutrient quality of food crops, enhancement of the environment and human health by reducing the amount of pesticides used on crops, and effective epidemiology of animal diseases and strategies to protect our agricultural resources.”

The ARS awards are as follows:

Scientific contact: Sharon Durham, ARS Information Staff, phone (301) 504-1611, fax (301) 504-1641,, for fax or electronic copies of news releases about these specific awards to ARS scientists.