Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

headline bar






Lilia I. De Guzman 

Eastern Apicultural Society
James I. Hambleton Awardee

Dr. Lilia I. De Guzman has been chosen as the 2012 recipient of the James I. Hambleton Award by the Eastern Apicultural Society of North America.

The Hambleton Award was established in 1973 to honor outstanding scientists in apicultural research. There were many strong candidates nominated. However, the Award Committee based their decision on Dr. De Guzman's decades of productive research and the apicultural aspects of that work.


Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC)

Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer



Honey Bees with Varroa Sensitive Hygiene


Dr. Jeffrey Harris, Dr. Robert Danka, Tom Glenn (not pictured) and Suki Glenn (not pictured) were selected as the winners of the 2012 Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer.  They were recognized at an award ceremony on Thursday, May 3, 2012 at the FLC National Meeting in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  Also representing ARS were Mr. Archie Tucker and Dr. Rick Brenner.


The Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer is presented annually by the FLC recognizing laboratory employees who have accomplished outstanding work in the process of transferring a technology developed by a federal laboratory to the commercial marketplace. 


ARS News Articles

Putting Honey Bees to Work for Veterans
Jun 23, 2016
New ARS Bee Genebank Will Preserve Genetic Diversity and Provide Breeding Resources
Jan 26, 2016

Last Modified: 2/20/2017
Footer Content Back to Top of Page