Skip to main content
ARS Home » Research » Publications at this Location » Publication #233908

Title: Recent advances in sterol research

item Moreau, Robert
item Nes, David
item Bach, Thomas
item Parish, Edward
item Zawistowski, Jerzy

Submitted to: Lipids Journal
Publication Type: Review Article
Publication Acceptance Date: 10/21/2008
Publication Date: 12/1/2008
Citation: Moreau, R.A., Nes, D.W., Bach, T.J., Parish, E.J., Zawistowski, J. 2008. Recent advances in sterol research. Lipids Journal 43:1091-1093.

Interpretive Summary:

Technical Abstract: Since 1970, the AOCS has been a regular host to the sterol symposia. The 2008 Sterol Symposium, “Recent Advances in Sterol Research,” was held at the AOCS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington. This year the symposium held special significance, for it hosted the presentation of the fourth G.J. Schroepfer Jr. Award for sterol research, which was presented to Professor Michel Rohmer from the Institute of Chemistry at the University Louis Pasteur/CNRS in Strasbourg, France. Professor Rohmer is well known for research on the discovery of bacterial hopanoids and on the elucidation of the mevalonate-independent methylerythritol phosphate (MEP) biosynthetic pathway (sometime called the non-mevalonate pathway), a second pathway for the biosynthesis of terpenes. In this year’s Sterol Symposium Professor Michael Waterman from Vanderbilt University was also honored for his long and productive career and for his significant contributions to the field of steroid biochemistry, especially for his pioneering research on the role of various cytochrome P450 enzymes in the steroid biosynthetic pathway. Several of Professor Waterman’s colleagues (students, postdocs, and other collaborators) were invited to present seminars describing their individual accomplishments and the positive influence that Professor Waterman had on their careers. We are looking forward to the next sterol symposium which will be held at the 101st Annual Meeting and Expo of the American Oil Chemists’ Society, May 16-19, 2010, in Phoenix, Arizona