Skip to main content
ARS Home » Research » Lectures » morrison

B.Y. Morrison Memorial Lecture logo


The B.Y. Morrison Memorial Lecture was established in 1968 by the Agricultural Research Service to honor the memory of Benjamin Y. Morrison and to recognize scientists who have made outstanding contributions to horticulture and other environmental sciences, to encourage the use of these sciences, and to stress the urgency of preserving and enhancing natural beauty.

Benjamin Y. Morrison (1891–1966) was a pioneer in horticulture and the first director of the U.S. National Arboretum in Washington, DC. A scientist, landscape architect, plant explorer, author, and lecturer, Morrison advanced the science of botany in the United States and fostered broad international exchange of ornamental plants. Morrison was also chief editor of the American Horticultural Society's magazine from its inception in 1926 until 1963, only 3 years before his death.

The 2019 Benjamin Y. Morrison Memorial Lecture will be presented in Las Vegas during the American Society for Horticultural Science Annual Conference at 4:15 p.m. on July 24, 2019.

2019 B.Y. Morrison Memorial Lecturer

Mary Meyer, Professor and Extension Horticulturalist, Department of Horticultural Science, University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum, Chaska, Minnesota.

What’s on Your Bucket List for Horticulture?

We all have a bucket list, right? Re-learning fly-fishing; seeing the Aurora Borealis, the pyramids, and Villa d’Este; and learning to play chess are on Dr. Mary Meyer’s bucket list. But what about a bucket list for horticulture – a list of the things we could do to advance our love of and life work with plants to help our world and everyone in it to eat well and thrive from being near plants? Yes, these could be big lofty goals or small personal steps. Meyer proposes it’s time we thought about these goals and individually or collectively we work toward them purposefully. Meyer has a horticulture bucket list to share with you, and she hopes her thoughts will inspire you to develop a horticulture bucket list that will continue to advance the wonderful field of horticulture. 

Call for Nominations

Stay tuned for updates on the 2020 B.Y. Morrison Memorial Lecture Call for Nominations!

Previous Lecturers