Skip to main content
ARS Home » People & Locations » People List - Offices

Office of The Area Director
Swietlik, Dariusz
Area Director
10300 Baltimore Avenue
Bldg. 003, Rm. 223, BARC-West
Beltsville, MD 20705

The Northeast Area (NEA) of Agricultural Research Service encompasses 15 research centers and laboratories and 9 worksites located in 13 northeastern and Atlantic states from Maine to Tennessee and the District of Columbia. These include the U.S. National Arboretum in Washington D.C., the Eastern Regional Research Center in Philadelphia, PA, the Robert C. Holey Center on Agriculture and Health in Ithaca, NY, and Beltsville Agricultural Research Center (BARC) in Maryland, the largest and most comprehensive agricultural research complex in the world. The noteworthy accomplishments of the scientists at NEA’s centers and laboratories have made them international leaders in their respective scientific fields. The mission of the NEA is to conduct innovative, fundamental and applied scientific research to develop and transfer solutions that address agricultural and human health problems of high national priority such as: 1) maintaining and improving the plentiful supply of healthful and safe food, fiber, bioenergy and agriculture-derived value-added products to all Americans; 2) protecting and enhancing the natural resource base and the environment; 3) providing innovative technology to enhance economic opportunities for rural citizens, communities, and the society as a whole; and 4) assuring a competitive position of American agriculture in the global economy. The nutritional needs of the Americans are assessed at the Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center as well as Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutritional Research Center on Aging at Tufts in Boston, MA. The NEA programs widely leverage their resources by closely collaborating with other federal research agencies, the U.S. land-grant, state, and private universities as well as foreign universities and scientific research organizations the world over.

  Northeast Area
    Office of The Area Director
Allen, Jenny
(301) 504-6507

Equal Employment Specialist
Berry, Bradford
(301) 504-8400

Blum, Michael
(301) 504-6182

Information Technology Specialist
Camp, Mary
(301) 504-8121

Statistician General
James, Rosalind
(301) 504-5193

Associate Director
Kramer, Matthew
(301) 504-8121

Statistician General
Kumpon, Richard Rick
(607) 255-8849

Environmental Protection Specialist
Onwulata, Charles
(301) 504-8310

Associate Director
Poulos, James Jim
(301) 504-6421

Technology Transfer Coordinator
Rausch, Dallas
(301) 504-5975

Program Analyst
Reise, Robert Bob
(301) 504-6182

IT Specialist
Rice, Clifford
(301) 504-6398

Research Chemist
Shao, Jonathan
(301) 504-6292

Computational Biologist
Stewart, Brenda
(301) 504-6182

Telecommunications Specialist
Swietlik, Dariusz
(301) 504-6078

Area Director
Torri, Dennis
(301) 504-6182

Office Automation Clerk (Office Automation)
Vinyard, Bryan
(301) 504-8121

Statistician General
Weber, Lou
(301) 504-6228

Telecommunications Manager