Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Albany Location Contacts
headline bar
Office of the Director 
Howard Q. Zhang*
Center Director
Ph: 510-559-5600 Fax: 510-559-5963
Howard.Zhang@ars.usda.gov
*Dr. Zhang is on detail as Acting Associate Area Director, South Atlantic Area, effective July 1- Sept 30, 2014. WRRC Acting Center Director is Tara McHugh.
Christopher Carter
Executive Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5600
Christopher.Carter@ars.usda.gov
Thomas Moreno
Facility Engineer
Ph: 510-559-5622 Fax: 510-559-5638
Thomas.Moreno@ars.usda.gov
Stephen Douglass
Information Services Supervisor
Ph: 510-559-5735
Stephen.Douglass@ars.usda.gov
Carolyn Garcia
Safety and Occupational Health Specialist
Ph: 510-559-6059
Carolyn.Garcia@ars.usda.gov

Location Support Services
Gwyn Watson
Administrative Officer
Ph: 510-559-6029 Fax: 510-559-5638
Gwyn.Watson@ars.usda.gov
Dolores Gantan
Administrative Support Assistant
Ph: 510-559-6030
Dolores.Gantan@ars.usda.gov

Office of Technology Transfer (Pacific West Area, OTT)
David Nicholson
Technology Transfer Coordinator
Ph: 510-559-5641 Fax: 510-559-6091
David.Nicholson@ars.usda.gov
Kristin Kimball
Technology Transfer Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5619
Kristin.Kimball@ars.usda.gov


Research Units at WRRC 

Bioproduct Chemistry and Engineering Research Unit (BCE)
William Orts
Research Leader, Acting Assoc. Area Director, PWA 
Ph: 510-559-5730 Fax: 510-559-5818
Bill.Orts@ars.usda.gov
Office Automation Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5621

Crop Improvement and Utilization Research Unit (CIU
Ann Blechl 
Acting Research Leader
Ph: 510-559-5716
Ann.Blechl@ars.usda.gov
Jayma Brown
Program Support Assistant 
Ph: 510-559-5750
Jayma.Brown@ars.usda.gov

Exotic and Invasive Weeds Research Unit (EIW)
Patrick Moran 
Acting Research Leader
Ph: 510-559-6393 Fax: 510-559-5737
Patrick.Moran@ars.usda.gov
Maureen Rettig 
Program Support Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5990
Maureen.Rettig@ars.usda.gov

Foodborne Toxin Detection & Prevention Research Unit (FTDP)
Luisa Cheng
Acting Research Leader
Ph: 510-559-6337 Fax: 510-559-6162
Luisa.Cheng@ars.usda.gov
Jackie Coleman
Program Support Assistant
Ph: 510-559-6428
Jackie.Coleman@ars.usda.gov

Genomics and Gene Discovery Research Unit (GGD)
Yong Gu 
Acting Research Leader
Ph: 510-559-5732 
Yong.Gu@ars.usda.gov
Patricia Swartz
Program Support Assistant 
Ph: 510-559-5934
Patricia.Swartz@ars.usda.gov

Healthy Processed Foods Research Unit (HPFR)
Tara McHugh
Research Leader, Acting Center Director 
Ph: 510-559-5864 Fax: 510-559-5818
Tara.McHugh@ars.usda.gov
Lorraine Brown
Program Support Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5650
Lorraine.Brown@ars.usda.gov

Produce Safety and Microbiology Research Unit (PSM)
William Miller 
Acting Research Leader
Ph: 510-559-5992 Fax: 510-559-6165
William.Miller@ars.usda.gov
Karen Mallinen
Program Support Assistant
Ph: 510-559-5610
Karen.Mallinen@ars.usda.gov

Last Modified: 9/2/2014
Footer Content Back to Top of Page