Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

headline bar

The Southeast Area is one of five research areas within ARS. We have over 1,700 full-time personnel, including 485 scientist and engineers, working at 27 research locations and 4 worksites.  The Southeast Area states include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia,  Louisiana, Mississippi, North and South Carolina, and Puerto Rico.  Additionally, we have worksites in Tennessee, Arizona and St. Croix, VI.

All major agricultural commodities of the mid-south United States are researched by Southeast Area scientists including cotton, corn, soybean, rice, sugarcane, poultry and catfish, as well as small fruits, nuts, such as blueberries and strawberries.

The Southeast Area Office is headquartered in Stoneville, MS as part of the Jamie Whitten Delta States Research Center. 

                         Area Director's Office  





Last Modified: 9/1/2016
Footer Content Back to Top of Page