Skip to main content
ARS Home » Research » Publications at this Location » Publication #134392


item Jones, Deana

Submitted to: National Egg Quality School Proceedings
Publication Type: Proceedings
Publication Acceptance Date: 4/26/2002
Publication Date: 5/20/2002
Citation: Jones, D.R. 2002. Introduction to HACCP. National Egg Quality School Proceedings. p. 131-135.

Interpretive Summary:

Technical Abstract: The USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) has implemented the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) program in all US meat and poultry processing facilities. It is a science-based program to enhance the food safety of the American food supply. Many shell egg processors have developed their own HACCP-like programs. HACCP currently is not mandated for the egg industry. Before beginning a HACCP program, there are several prerequisite programs, such as sanitation standard operating procedures (SSOPs) and good manufacturing practices (GMPs), which must be in place. There are seven principles of HACCP: 1) access hazards, 2) identify critical control points (CCPs), 3) set critical limits, 4) monitor CCPs, 5) corrective action, 6) record keeping, and 7) validation. An understanding of the 7 principles is necessary to develop a complete, accurate HACCP plan. This presentation is meant to serve as an introduction to the topic of HACCP, a more in-depth, multiple day training would be necessary for a complete understanding and certification.