Skip to main content
ARS Home » Office of Technology Transfer » Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)

Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
headline bar
1 - Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
2 - Page 5
3 - Page 6
4 - Page 1
5 - Page 4
6 - Page 7
7 - Page 8
8 - Page 9
9 - Page 10
10 - Page 11
11 - Page 12
12 - Page 13
13 - Page 14
14 - Page 15
15 - Page 2

Invention Licensing- Partnering with the private sector to commercialize inventions made by USDA scientists

USDA is looking for commercial partners to develop and market inventions made by USDA scientists. A wide variety of USDA inventions are available for licensing and include patents and pending patents, plant varieties and proprietary biological materials. To apply for a license, please select the appropriate license application form below.

Select from the following license application options:

Patents and Pending Patents

Plant Varieties  

Biological Materials         

Instructions (Word| PDF)

Instructions (Word | PDF)

Instructions (Word | PDF)

Application (Word | PDF)

Application (Word | PDF)

Application (Word | PDF)

USDA, ARS, Office of Technology Transfer (OTT) is responsible for licensing USDA inventions:

  • Licensing specialists are available to speak with you about your license application.
  • License agreement terms are flexible and take into account the needs of the licensee's business plan.
  • Licenses may be nonexclusive, co-exclusive, partially exclusive or exclusive.
  • In some cases, patent rights outside of the United States may be available for  licensing.
  • USDA license agreements comply with the policy and objectives set forth in 35 USC 207-209 and 37 CFR 404.

    Additional information can be obtained by contacting:

    USDA, Agricultural Research Service
    Office of Technology Transfer
    5601 Sunnyside Avenue, Room 4-1159
    Beltsville, MD 20705-5131
    (301) 504-5989 / fax: (301) 504-5060
    E-mail: license@ars.usda.gov

    The Technology Licensing Program manages all aspects of USDA invention licensing, including the review of license applications, the negotiation of license agreements, and the monitoring of license agreements to assure compliance with agreement terms.  Licensing Program staff collect and disburse license revenues, manage international patent filings, and provide expert advice on all matters related to USDA invention licensing.

June Blalock, Coordinator, Technology Licensing Program 
June.Blalock@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-5257 
Fax: (301) 504-5060


Brian Nakanishi, Technology Licensing Specialist
Brian.Nakanishi@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4879
Fax: (301) 504-5060

Diana Tucker, Licensing Specialist
Diana.Tucker@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4878 
Fax: (301) 504-5060

John Gaudet, Licensing Specialist
John.Gaudet@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4558
Fax: (301) 504-5060

Deborah Penot, Foreign Patent Specialist
Debbie.Penot@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-5003
Fax: (301) 504-5060

Carla Boettinger, Program Analyst
Carla.Boettinger@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-5734
Fax: (301) 504-5060

Gernard Little, Legal Instruments Examiner
Gernard.Little@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4780
Fax: (301) 504-5060

Kim Melton, Licensing Assistant
Kim.Melton@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4893
Fax: (301) 504-5060


 

[1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next >>