Skip to main content
ARS Home » Office of International Research Engagement and Cooperation » Unpublished Old OIRP Pages » ARS International Action - US-EC Biotech Research Task Force, October 2014





US- European Commission on Biotechnology Research

October 1, 2014. Eileen Herrera, Deputy Director, ARS Office of International Research Programs (OIRP), and Jane Silverthorne (NSF), each serving respectively as the Secretariat and Co-Chair of the US- European Commission (EC) Task Force on Biotechnology Research, met with the EC Co-Chair counterparts to discuss the direction and parameters of the Task Force for the next five years. James Gavigan, the EC Minister-Counselor Research & Innovation, posted in Washington, DC, also participated. Since 1990, the EU-US Task Force on Biotechnology Research has been coordinating transatlantic efforts to promote research on biotechnology and its applications for societal benefit. The Task Force was established in June 1990 by the European Commission and the White House Office of Science and Technology.

More ARS International Action