Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Related Topics

Northeast Area Diversity Task Force

Subcommittee Descriptions and Chair Contact Information

The subcommittees of the BA Diversity Task Force collaborate on many activities and events. The list below gives some examples of the types of activities that each subcommittee focuses on. Contact information for the Task Force chair and subcommittee chairs is also provided.

Beltsville Location Diversity Task ForceLeadership Advisory Subcommittee
  • Making recommendations to the Northeast Area Office concerning Best Hiring Practices aimed at increasing diversity in the NEA work force
  • Hosting a symposium at which graduate students present their research and interact with NEA scientists
  • Co-chairs - Monica Santin-Duran, 301-504-6774,
Science, Technical Education and Outreach Subcommittee
  • Educational outreach to local schools, particularly in underrepresented or inner city areas, with the goal of educating the next generation of scientists
  • Creating and maintaining a Student Discovery Garden that illustrates different science areas within the Beltsville Location
  • Chair - Ann Simpkins 301 504-6734,
Special Emphasis Subcommittee
  • Communicate to NEA that our cultural diversity helps sustain the vibrancy of our research
  • Celebrating diversity through community service projects and outreach programs, as well as through cultural observances and educational programs for BA staff
  • Chair - Vacant
Communications Subcommittee
  • Communicating NEADTF initiatives to the Northeast Area
  • Serving the internal communication needs of NEADTF and its subcommittees
    • Assisting other subcommittees with writing, editing, or formatting tasks
    • Maintaining NEADTF's SharePoint site
  • Chair 
    Tasha Sprague, 301-504-5864,

Last Modified: 8/12/2016
Footer Content Back to Top of Page