Skip to main content
ARS Home » News & Events » News Articles » Research News » 2004 » Federal Laboratory Consortium Recognizes ARS Scientists for Tech Transfer

Archived Page

This page has been archived and is being provided for reference purposes only. The page is no longer being updated, and therefore, links on the page may be invalid.

Federal Laboratory Consortium Recognizes ARS Scientists for Tech Transfer

By Erin Peabody
May 5, 2004

WASHINGTON, May 5—Several Agricultural Research Service scientists are being honored in a ceremony in San Diego, Calif., today for their efforts to move federal technology and research out of the lab and into the marketplace. They are winners of the 2004 Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC) Awards for Excellence in Technology Transfer.

"These ARS researchers have contributed to a wide range of technology transfer successes, from the biological control of toxins in cottonseed, to new uses for sunflower seeds and vegetable oil, to areawide management of exotic pests, to efforts to eradicate a serious citrus disease," said Edward B. Knipling, acting administrator for ARS.

Organized in 1974, the FLC is a nationwide network of more than 700 federal laboratories representing almost all federal departments and agencies.

The FLC is presenting a total of 24 awards in today's ceremony. Five of these will be given to ARS researchers, including:

Also being honored in today's ceremony is Peter B. Johnsen, director of the National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, Peoria, Ill. He is receiving the FLC Laboratory Director of the Year Award for his leadership and vision in developing new ways to transfer technology from the federal center to the private sector.

ARS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief in-house scientific research agency.