Skip to main content
ARS Home » News & Events » News Articles » Research News » 2002 » Three Scientists Inducted Into ARS Hall of Fame

Archived Page

This page has been archived and is being provided for reference purposes only. The page is no longer being updated, and therefore, links on the page may be invalid.

George Inglett
George Inglett





K. Darwin Murrell
K. Darwin Murrell





Stuart Nelson
Stuart O. Nelson

Three Scientists Inducted Into ARS Hall of Fame

By Sharon Durham
September 18, 2002

WASHINGTON, Sept. 18--Advances in food science, landmark research on parasites of veterinary and medical importance, and pioneering work on dielectric properties of and moisture measurement methods for agricultural products have earned three Agricultural Research Service scientists places in the agency's Science Hall of Fame. ARS is the chief scientific research agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

During a ceremony today at the U.S. National Arboretum in Washington, George Inglett, K. Darwin Murrell and Stuart O. Nelson will receive plaques citing their achievements. "These scientists have made enormous contributions to agricultural research during their careers and have certainly earned their places in the Hall of Fame," said ARS Acting Administrator Edward B. Knipling.

Since 1986, the ARS Hall of Fame program has recognized agency researchers for outstanding career achievements in agricultural science. Those inducted are nominated by their peers for making major contributions to agricultural research. The scientists must be retired or eligible to retire to receive the award.

Inglett joined ARS in 1967 as chief of the Cereal Properties Laboratory at the then-Northern Regional Research Laboratory, now the National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, located in Peoria, Ill. Inglett later opted for a lead scientist position in order to spend more time conducting research, a move that has resulted in development and patenting of the four "Trim Technologies:" Oat-trim (a powdered fat replacement), Z-Trim, Nutrim and Soytrim. In 1999, licensed Oat-trim manufacturers produced more than 20 million pounds of the fat-replacing powder, generating an estimated $1 billion in retail sales.

Murrell, former deputy administrator of the ARS National Program Staff, began his ARS career in 1978, when he was appointed research leader of the Helminthic Diseases Laboratory. In 1984, Murrell won the ARS Outstanding Scientist of the Year Award and, in 2000, a newly recognized species of roundworm was named Trichinella murrelli in his honor. Currently, Murrell's work is providing the foundation for a program under development by ARS and the National Pork Producers Council that will allow pork to be marketed as trichinella-free.

Murrell is being honored for his landmark research on parasites of veterinary and medical importance--especially trichinellosis in swine--and for his innovative development and leadership of laboratory and agency-level programs.

Nelson, who joined ARS in 1954, was chosen for his pioneering research on the dielectric properties of agricultural products, applications of radio-frequency and microwave energy, and electrical measurements for moisture sensing in cereal grains. He is recognized as a world authority on dielectric properties--the characteristics of poor conductors of electricity that determine their interaction with electromagnetic fields--of agricultural materials and measurement methods.

Nelson was named the ARS Engineer of the Year in 1985. In 1989, he received ARS' Senior Scientist Excellence and Achievement Award.

Permanent plaques honoring the scientists will be on display at ARS' National Visitor Center in Beltsville, Md.