Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Related Topics

MWA's External Awards
headline bar

August 2010 - Lucy Stewart, Wooster, OH, has been reecognized as one of four early career virologists in this year's Faces of the Future Symposium" at the American Phytopathological Society Annual Meeting.


August 2010 - The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named three ARS scientists as 2010 ACS Fellows, an honor
bestowed upon 192 distinguished scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry, and have made important contributions to ACS. The 2010 Fellows were honored on August 23 during the society's national meeting in Boston, MA.  ARS honoree from the Midwest Area was Research Chemist George E. Inglett, ARS National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, Functional Foods Research Unit, Peoria, IL


August 2010 - Research Chemist Badal C. Saha with the ARS National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, Bioenergy Research Unit, Peoria, IL, along with co-authors Yoshikiyo Sakakibara and Paul Taylor, won the Society for Biotechnology's (Japan) Excellent Paper Award for their paper on, "Microbial production of xylitol from l-arabinose by metabolically engineered Escherichia coli."


On August 3, 2010, USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack honored USDA employees across the Nation for leadership efforts and accomplishments that have furthered the mission and goals of the Department. The Midwest Area  employees honored were:


••         Amy L. Vincent, Veterinary Medical Officer with the ARS Virus and Prion Research Unit, Ames, IA, was one of three who received a Group Achievement Award for outstanding dedication and cooperation in developing an interagency-sanctioned flexible and risk-measured approach to finding the H1N1 influenza virus in swine.  Along with Amy, Steven M. Kappes, ARS Deputy Administrator for Animal Production and Protection, Cyril Gay, ARS National Program Leader for Animal Health and Safety were honored.


••         Animal Scientist Kim McMunn, with the ARS Livestock Behavior Research Unit, West Lafayette, IN, received the President's Call to Service Award. This award is given to the employee who has provided 4,000 hours or more of service to a qualifying organization over the employee's lifetime.


••         Midwest Area employees to receive the Gold Presidential Volunteer Service Award were: David A. Lee, Biological Science Lab Technician with the ARS National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research, Peoria, IL, and Brandon Schemerhorn, Research Entomologist with the ARS Crop Production and Pest Control Research Unit, West Lafayette, IN.


••         Midwest Area employees to receive the Silver Presidential Volunteer Service Award were:  Julie Grogan, Financial Technician with the ARS Administrative Office, Madison, WI, and Bruce Zilkowski, Entomologist with the ARS Crop Bioprotection Research Unit, Peoria, IL.



Last Modified: 8/13/2016
Footer Content Back to Top of Page