Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Title: Development of Soybean Oil-Based Energy Absorbing Materials

item Erhan, Sevim
item Liu, Zengshe

Submitted to: UJNR Food & Agricultural Panel Proceedings
Publication Type: Proceedings
Publication Acceptance Date: October 1, 2003
Publication Date: November 9, 2003
Citation: Erhan, S.Z., Liu, Z. 2003. Development of soybean oil-based energy absorbing materials. UJNR Food & Agricultural Panel Proceedings.

Technical Abstract: The energy absorbing materials were prepared from epoxidized soybean oil with three different curing agents: Jeffamine EDR-148 (EDR-148), diethylenetriamine (DETA) and triethylenetetramine (TETA). Resulting polymers exhibited tensile stress-strain behavior similar to rubbery materials with good damping and energy absorbing properties. The Young's modulus of these materials varies from 0.21 to 1.02 MPa. Glass transition temperatures of these polymers prepared with DETA, TETA and EDR-148 curing agents are 1.51, -7.84 and '12.38 deg C, respectively.

Last Modified: 4/22/2015
Footer Content Back to Top of Page