Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Technology Transfer Team Members / February 13, 2008 / News from the USDA Agricultural Research Service

Team Awards for Technology Transfer


Post-Harvest Food Safety Group

Citation: For the development and implementation of technology that reduces pathogen contamination on cattle hides and improves the safety of the red meat supply.

  • Terry M. Arthur, Clay Center, Neb.
  • Joseph M. Bosilevac, Clay Center, Neb.
  • Mohammad Koohmaraie, Clay Center, Neb.
  • Steven D. Shackelford, Clay Center, Neb.
  • Tommy L. Wheeler, Clay Center, Neb.


Fayetteville Poultry Probiotic Team

Citation: For the development of a novel method of identifying beneficial bacteria that, when fed to poultry, outcompete enteric foodborne pathogens, substantially reducing the risk of human foodborne contamination and improving the health of poultry.

  • Ann Donoghue, Southern Plains Area, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Billy M. Hargis, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Dan J. Donoghue, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.
  • Guillermo Tellez, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.



Low Glycemic Index Sweetener Team

Citation: For technology transfer activities related to research leading to the commercial low-glycemic-index sweetener known as Sucromalt, produced and marketed by Cargill Corporation.

  • Gregory L. Côté, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.
  • Timothy D. Leathers, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.
  • Melinda S. Nunnally, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.
  • Sheila M. Maroney, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.
  • Ting Carlson, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.
  • Anton J. Woo, Midwest Area, Peoria, Ill.



Microbial Food Safety Research Unit Special Projects Team

Citation: For developing, validating, and implementing the SLIC (Sprayed Lethality in Container) process to enhance the safety and quality of ready-to-eat meat and poultry products.

  • John B. Luchansky, North Atlantic Area, Wyndmoor, Pa.
  • Neil M. Goldberg, North Atlantic Area, Wyndmoor, Pa.
  • Alan Oser, Oser Technologies, LLC, Blacksville, WV


Antibiotic Development Team

Citation: For research and technology transfer resulting in commercialization of a new antibiotic to control American foulbrood disease of honey bees.

  • Mark F. Feldlaufer, Beltsville Area, Beltsville, Maryland
  • Jan P. Kochansky (retired)
  • Jeffrey S. Pettis, Beltsville Area, Beltsville, Maryland
  • Matthew Kramer, Beltsville Area, Beltsville, Maryland



Last Modified: 2/13/2008