Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

ARS 50th Anniversary Celebration

Logo Image for "A R S : The Future Grows Here"Agricultural Research Service
50th Anniversary

National Scientific Leadership Meeting and
Annual Recognition Program

Proud Past and Promising Future
January 21-23, 2004
New Orleans, Louisiana

Conference home | Agenda | Speakers | Webcast schedule | Webcast help

Speakers and Panelists

  • Gerry Anderson
    Ecologist, Northern Plains Agricultural Research Laboratory, ARS
    Sidney, MT
    ganderson@sidney.ars.usda.gov
  • Charles Bacon
    Research Leader, Richard B. Russell Research Center, ARS
    Toxicology and Mycotoxin Research
    Athens, GA
    cbacon@saa.ars.usda.gov
  • Ed Bagley
    NCAUR Retired
    Morton, IL
    ebbagley@aol.com
  • Barbara Baker
    Research Plant Molecular Geneticist, Plant Gene Expression Center, ARS
    Albany, CA
    bbaker@socrates.berkeley.edu
  • Dave Barrett
    Vice President of Engineering, iRobot Corporation
    22 McGrath Highway Suite 6
    Somerville, MA 02143
    dbarrett@irobot.com
  • Rick Bennett
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    rbennett@ars.usda.gov
  • Antoinette Betschart
    Director, Pacific West Area, ARS
    Albany, CA
    abetschart@pw.ars.usda.gov
  • Deepak Bhatnagar
    Food and Feed Safety Research Laboratory, ARS
    dbhatnag@srrc.ars.usda.gov
  • Baxter Black
    Large Animal Veterinarian and Cowboy Poet
  • Will Blackburn
    Director, Northern Plains Area, ARS
    Fort Collins, CO
    will.blackburn@ars.usda.gov
  • Margaret Bogle
    Nutritionist, Delta Nutrition Intervention Research Initiative, ARS
    Little Rock, AR,
    mbogle@spa.ars.usda.gov
  • James Bradley
    Deputy Administrator, Administrative and Financial Management, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    jbradley@ars.usda.gov
  • Roger Breeze
    Associate Administrator, Special Interagency Programs, ARS
    Washington, DC
    rbreeze@ars.usda.gov
  • Clinton Bristow
    President, Alcorn State University
  • Dwayne Buxton
    Deputy Administrator, National Program Staff, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    drb@ars.usda.gov
  • Scott Cameron
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    jsc@ars.usda.gov
  • Ray Carruthers
    Research Leader, Exotic and Invasive Weeds Research, ARS
    Albany, CA
    ric@pw.usda.gov
  • Lowell Catlett
    Professor, Agricultural Economics and Agricultural Business Department
    New Mexico State University
  • John Cherry
    Center Director, Eastern Regional Research Center, ARS
    Wyndmoor, PA
    jcherry@errc.ars.usda.gov
  • Bill Clapham
    Research Leader, Appalachian Farming Systems Research Center, ARS
    Beaver, WV
    wclapham@afsrc.ars.usda.gov
  • Thomas Cleveland
    Supervisory Microbiologist, Food & Feed Safety Research, ARS
    New Orleans, LA
    eclevela@srrc.ars.usda.gov
  • James Cook
    Pullman, WA
    rjcook@wsu.edu
  • Katrina Cornish
    Plant Physiologist, Crop Improvement/utilization Research, ARS
    Albany, CA
    kcf@pw.usda.gov
  • Peter Cotty
    Research Plant Pathologist, Food and Feed Safety Research
    Tucson, AZ
    pjcotty@srrc.ars.usda.gov
  • Stephen Crutchfield
    USDA Economic Research Service
    Washington, DC
    scrutch@ers.usda.gov
  • Allen Dedrick
    Associate Deputy Administrator, Natural Resources and Sustainable Agricultural Systems, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    ard@ars.usda.gov
  • Ernest Delfosse
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    esd@ars.usda.gov
  • Anne M. Donoghue
    Research Leader, Poultry Production and Product Safety Research Unit, ARS,
    Poultry Science Center, University of Arkansas
    Fayetteville, AR
    donoghue@uark.edu
  • John Doran
    Soil, Scientist, Soil and Water Conservation Research
    Lincoln, NE
    jdoran1@unl.edu
  • Steven Duke
    Supervisory Plant Physiologist, Natural Products Utilization Research
    University, MS
    sduke@ars.usda.gov
  • Leland Ellis
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    lce@ars.usda.gov
  • Bob Faust
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    rmf@ars.usda.gov
  • Eleanor Frierson
    Deputy Director, National Agricultural Library
    Beltville, MD
    efrierson@nal.usda.gov
  • Joe Garbarino
    Director, Budget and Program Management Staff, ARS
    Washington, DC
    jgarbarino@ars.usda.gov
  • Melanie Gardner
    National Agricultural Library, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    mgardner@nal.usda.gov
  • Cyril Gay
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    cgg@ars.usda.gov
  • Bill Gelbart
    Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology
    Harvard University
    gelbart@morgan.harvard.edu
  • Maria Goldberg
    Executive Director, Hispanic Serving Institution
    Washington, DC
    mgoldberg@ars.usda.gov
  • Dennis Gonsalves
    dgonsalves@pbarc.ars.usda.gov
  • John Gorham
    Department of Veterinary and Microbiology, Washington State University
    Pullman, WA
    jgorham@vetmed.wsu.edu
  • Richard Greene
    Acting Director, Office of International Research Programs, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    rvg@ars.usda.gov
  • Jerry Hatfield
    Director, National Soil Tilth Lab
    Ames, IA,
    hatfield@nstl.gov
  • Tom Henneberry
    Director, Western Cotton Research Laboratory
    Phoenix, Az
    thenneberry@wcrl.ars.usda.gov
  • Anna Hewings
    Director, Midwest Area, ARS
    Peoria, Il
    hewingsa@mwa.ars.usda.gov
  • Joanne Holden
    Supervisory Nutritionists, Nutrient Data Laboratory
    Beltsville, MD
    jholden@rbhnrc.usda.gov
  • Tom Jackson
    Hydrologist, Hydrology and Remote Sensing Laboratory
    Beltsville, MD
    tjackson@hydrolab.arsusda.gov
  • Mike Jawson
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    mdj@ars.usda.gov
  • John Jeavons
    Director of Ecology Action
    Willits, CA
    Cynthia@sonic.net
  • Joseph Jen
    UnderSecretary, Research, Education, and Economics, USDA
  • Tom Jenkins
    Research Animal Scientist, U.S. Meat Animal Research Center
    Clay Center, NE
    jenkins@email.marc.usda.gov
  • Marvin Jensen
    Fort Collins, CO
    mjensen419@aol.com
  • Peter Johnsen
    Director, National Center for Agricultural Utilization
    Peoria, Il
    pjohnsen@ncaur.usda.gov
  • Lawrence Johnson
    lajohnson@verizon.net
  • Paul Johnson
    Producer and Former Chief, USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service
  • Phyllis Johnson
    Director, Beltsville Area, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    johnsonp@ba.ars.usda.gov
  • J. Patrick Jordan
    Director, ARS Southern Regional Research Center
    New Orleans, LA
    jpjordan@srrc.ars.usda.gov
  • Susan Julius
    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Herrod-Julius.Susan@epamail.epa.gov
  • Sally Kane
    Senior Advisor, Directorate for the Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
    National Science Foundation
  • Steve Kappes
    Director, U.S. Meat Animal Research Center
    Clay Center, NE
    kappes@email.marc.usda.gov
  • Edgar King
    Director, Mid South Area, ARS
    Stoneville, MS
    eking@ars.usda.gov
  • Edward B. Knipling
    Acting Administrator, ARS
    Washington, D.C.
  • Don Knowles
    Research Leader, Animal Diseases Research
    Pullman, WA
    dknowles@vetmed.wsu.edu
  • Leon Kochian
    Research Leader, U.S. Plant, Soil and Nutrition Research
    Ithaca, NY
    lvk1@cornell.edu
  • Mohammad Koohmaraie
    Supervisory Research Physiol, U.S. Meat Animal Research Center
    Clay Center, NE
    koohmaraie@email.marc.usda.gov
  • Ron Korcak
    Associate Area Director, ARS Beltsville Area
    Beltsville, MD
    korcakr@ba.ars.usda.gov
  • Charles Krause
    Research Leader, Application Technology Research
    Wooster, OH
    krause.2@osu.edu
  • Ray Kurzweil
    President and Founder, Kurzweil Technologies
  • Ron Lacewell
    Assistant Vice Chancellor, Agriculture and Life Sciences
    and Associate Director, Texas Agricultural Experiment Station
    College Station, TX
    r-lacewell@tamu.edu
  • William Larson
    Shoreview, MN
    wlarson@soils.umn.edu
  • Charles Lee
    President, Mississippi State University
  • Joe Lewis
    wjl@tifton.cpes.peachnet.edu
  • Martin Locke
    Supervisory Soil Scientist, National Sedimentation Laboratory
    Oxford, MS
    mlocke@ars.usda.gov
  • Frederick Magdoff
    Chair, Department of Crops and Soils at the University of Vermont
    Burlington, VT
    frederick.magdoff@uvm.edu
  • Neal Martin
    Center Director, U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center
    Madison, WI
    npmartin@facstaff.wisc.edu
  • Wilda Martinez
    Director, North Atlantic Area, ARS
    Wyndmoor, PA
    wilda.martinez@ars.usda.gov
  • Autar Mattoo
    Supervisory, Plant, Physiologist, Vegetable Laboratory
    Beltsville, MD
    mattooa@ba.ars.usda.gov
  • Melinda McClanahan
    Chief Information Officer, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    mmcclanahan@ars.usda.gov
  • Tara McHugh
    Research Leader, Processed Foods Research
    Albany, CA
    thm@pw.usda.gov
  • Bill Meridith
    wmeredith@ars.usda.gov
  • Sandy Miller Hays
    Director, Information Staff, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    smhays@ars.usda.gov
  • Susan Moran
    Research Leader, Southwest Watershed Research
    Tucson, AZ
    smoran@tucson.ars.ag.gov
  • Bruce Morrisey
    DuPont
    Willmington, DE
    bruce.w.morrissey@usa.dupont.com
  • Lee Mulkey
    U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Research and Development
  • Darwin Murrell
    kdmurrell@comcast.net
  • Karl Narang
    Area Director, South Atlantic Area
    Athens, GA
    skn@saa.ars.usda.gov
  • Stuart Nelson
    Agricultural Engineer, Richard B. Russell Research Center
    Athens, GA
    sonelson@qaru.ars.usda.gov
  • Duane Norman
    Supervisory Research Geneticist Animals,
    Animal Improvement Programs Laboratory
    Beltsville, MD
    dnorman@aipl.arsusda.gov
  • Chuck Onstad
    Area Director, Southern Plains Area
    College Station, TX
    constad@spa.ars.usda.gov
  • Bill Orts
    Research Leader, Bioproduct Chemistry and Engineering Research
    Albany, CA
    orts@pw.usda.gov
  • Ari Patrinos
    Director, OBER
    U.S. Department of Energy
    ari.patrinos@science.doe.gov
  • David Pimentel
    Department of Entomology, Cornell University
    Ithica, NY
    dp18@cornell.edu
  • Ron Polidan
    Chief Technologist
    U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration (Goddard)
  • Korona Prince
    Director, Civil Rights Staff, ARS
    Washington, DC
    kprince@ars.usda.gov
  • John Radin
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    jwr@ars.usda.gov
  • Al Rango
    Research Hydrologist, Range Management Research
    Las Cruces, NM
    alrango@nmsu.edu
  • Mark Rasmussen
    Research Leader, National Animal Disease Center
    Ames, IA
    mrasmuss@nadc.ars.usda.gov
  • Wayne Reeves
    Supervisory Research Agronomy, Southern Piedmont Conservation Research
    Watkinsville, GA
    dwreeves@uga.edu
  • Caird E. Rexroad, Jr.
    Acting Associate Administrator, ARS
    Washington, DC
    crexroad@ars.usda.gov
  • Clarence Richardson
    Director, Grassland Soil and Water Research Lab
    Temple, TX
    crichardson@spa.ars.usda.gov
  • Larry Robertson
    Plant Geneticist, Plant Genetic Resources
    Geneva, NY
    ldr9@nysaes.cornell.edu
  • Mike Ruff
    Director, Office of Technology Transfer
    Washington, DC
    mruff@ars.usda.gov
  • G. Edward Schuh
    Regents Professor and Director, Freeman Center for International Economic Policy
    University of Minnesota
    geschuh@hhh.umn.edu
  • Steve Shafer
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    srs@ars.usda.gov
  • Kay Simmons
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    kws@ars.usda.gov
  • John Sivinski
    Research Entomologist, Center for Medical, Agricultural and Veterinary Entomology
    Gainsville, Fl
    jsivinski@gainesville.usda.ufl.edu
  • Lew Smith
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    lws@ars.usda.gov
  • Alma Solis
    Research Entomologist, Systematics Entomology Laboratory
    Washington, DC
    asolis@sel.barc.usda.gov
  • Joe Spence
    Acting Associate Deputy Administrator, Animal Production, Product Value and Safety
    Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center
    Beltsville, MD
    joseph.spence@nps.ars.usda.gov
  • Judy St. John
    Associate Deputy Administrator, Crop Production, Value and Safety, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    jsj@ars.usda.gov
  • Charles Stuber
    Consultant and Collaborator Staff
    Athen, GA
    cstuber2@aol.com
  • David Swayne
    Director, Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory
    Athens, GA
    dswayne@seprl.usda.gov
  • Archie Tucker
    Deputy Area Administrative Director, Mid-South Area
    Stoneville, MS
    atucker@ars.usda.gov
  • Katherine Tucker
    Jean Mayer USDA HNRCA
    Tufts University
    Boston, MA
    katherine.tucker@tufts.edu
  • Jim Tumlinson
    Penn State University
    University Park, PA
    jht2@psu.edu
  • Dan Upchurch
    Director, Cropping Systems Research Laboratory
    Lubbock, Texas
    dupchurch@lbk.ars.usda.gov
  • Richard Witter
    Supervisory Veterinary Medical Officer, Consultant/Collaborator Staff
    East Lansing, MI
    witterr@msu.edu
  • Brian Wright
    University of California-Berkeley
    wright@are.berkeley.edu
  • Robert Wright
    National Program Leader, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    rjw@ars.usda.gov
  • Howard-Yana Shapiro
    Senior Scientist in Agroforestry/Agroecology, M&M Mars, and Research Manager, Plant Science, M&M Mars
  • Peter Young
    Director, National Agricultural Library, ARS
    Beltsville, MD
    pyoung@nal.usda.gov

 

^Top

Last Modified: 3/31/2014
Footer Content Back to Top of Page