Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

ARS 50th Anniversary Celebration

Logo Image for "A R S : The Future Grows Here"Agricultural Research Service
50th Anniversary

National Scientific Leadership Meeting and
Annual Recognition Program

Proud Past and Promising Future
January 21-23, 2004
New Orleans, Louisiana

Conference home | Agenda | Speakers | Webcast schedule | Webcast help

  R. James Cook

James CookR. James Cook is the Interim Dean of the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences at Washington State University, Pullman, WA. F rom April 1, 1998 until his appointment as interim dean effective August 10, 2003, he occupied the R. J. Cook Endowed Chair in Wheat Research at Washington State University. 

Prior to this appointment, he worked as a Research Plant Pathologist with USDA-Agricultural Research Service (ARS) at Pullman from 1965 through March of 1998, conducting research on biological approaches to control root diseases of Pacific Northwest wheat. He has co-authored two books on biological control of plant pathogens and one book on wheat health management.

In 1988, he led the team of researchers at Washington State University that made the first field test of a genetically modified organism in the Pacific Northwest, which was a microorganism for root disease control on wheat. He has worked for the past 15 years at the interface of science and policy on biotechnology applied to food and agriculture, including he chaired an international working group that produced the 1993 OECE report on Safety Considerations for Biotechnology: Scale-up of Crop Plants, is a coauthor of the white paper, Transgenic Plants and World Agriculture, released jointly in July, 2000 by the Brazilian, Chinese, Indian, Mexican, Third World, U.K. and U.S. science academies, and served on the USDA Advisory Committee on Agricultural Biotechnology. He has also worked at the interface of science and policy or issues related to countering agricultural bioterrorism, including, he served on the panel that produced the National Research Council's 2002 report, Countering Agricultural Bioterrorism.

His awards include Superior Service Award, Distinguished Service Award, 1985 ARS Distinguished Scientist of the Year and ARS Science Hall of Fame, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture; Fellow, Award of Distinction, and Ruth Allen Award from the American Phytopathological Society; and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1993.


Last Modified: 9/8/2015
Footer Content Back to Top of Page