Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

headline bar

View the coding scheme


Each food reported by individuals in the What We Eat in America, NHANES dietary intake survey is assigned a unique 8-digit code. The first digit of each food code represents one of nine major commodity groups listed below. The second, third, and sometimes fourth digits of a code identify more specific subgroups within the nine major groups.

1 Milk And Milk Products
2 Meat, Poultry, Fish and Mixtures
3 Eggs
4 Dry Beans, Peas, Other Legumes, Nuts, and Seeds
5 Grain Products
6 Fruits
7 Vegetables
8 Fats, Oils, and Salad Dressings
9 Sugars, Sweets, and Beverages


View the coding scheme

Click here to view the food coding scheme for:


Last Modified: 10/2/2014
Footer Content Back to Top of Page