Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

IPRI Workshop 2014: Marrakech, Morocco
headline bar

International Plant Resistance to Insects Working Group

IPRI Logo


IPRI Partner IPRI Partner IPRI Partner

21st Biennial International Plant Resistance to Insects Workshop

NEW: 2nd Announcement and Accommodations (MS Word)

Venue: Marrakech, Morocco

Date: 14-18 April, 2014

Official language: English

Organizing institutions:

  • Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA)
  • Association Marocaine de la Protection des Plantes (AMPP)
  • The International Plant Resistance to Insects working group (IPRI)
  • International Center for Agricultural Research in the  Dry Areas (ICARDA)

International Steering Committee:

Anna-Maria Botha
Department of Genetics
Faculty of AgriSciences
Stellenbosch University
Private Bag X1
Matieland, 7601, South Africa
ambo@sun.ac.za

Dolores Mornhinweg
Wheat, Peanut and Other Field Crops Research Unit
USDA-ARS
1301 N. Western Rd.
Stillwater OK 74075-2714
Dolores.Mornhinweg@ars.usda.gov

Richard O. Musser
Department of Biological Sciences
Western Illinois University
Macomb, IL 61455
RO-Musser@wiu.edu

Nora Lapitan
Department of Soil and Crop Sciences
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523
nlapitan@nsf.gov

Mustapha El Bouhssini
International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA)
P.O. Box 5466, Aleppo, Syria
m.bohssini@cgiar.org

Herb Eichenseer
Pioneer Hi-Bred International
Johnston, IA 50131-0085
herb.eichenseer@pioneer.com

Christie Williams
USDA-ARS
Dept. of Entomology
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN 47907
christie.williams@ars.usda.gov

Local Organizing and Scientific Committee:

Dr. S. Lhaloui, INRA, Settat (Chair): lhalouis@yahoo.com

Dr. M. El Bouhssini, ICARDA, Rabat (Co-chair): m.bohssini@cgiar.org

Dr. S. Udupa, ICARDA, Rabat: S.Udupa@cgiar.org

Dr. N. Nsarellah, INRA, Settat: nsarellah@yahoo.com

Dr. Mihi, AMPP, Casablanca: mohamed.mihi12@gmail.com

Dr. F. Abbad Andaloussi, INRA, Rabat: abbadandaloussi@yahoo.fr

C. Kradi, INRA, Rabat: kradi@inra.ma

Topics to be covered in the workshop:

  • Screening methodologies for resistance to insect pests and sources of resistance
  • Breeding for resistance to insect pests through conventional and molecular strategies
  • Mechanisms of resistance
  • Deployment strategies of resistance genes

Important dates:

  1. Second announcement: April 2013
  2. Deadline for abstracts submission: 30 June 2013


Site designed and maintained by Louis Hesler, North Central Agricultural Research Laboratory, USDA-ARS, 2923 Medary Avenue, Brookings, SD, USA, 57006. Ph. 605-693-5228; E-mail: louis.hesler@ars.usda.gov


Last Modified: 11/17/2014
Footer Content Back to Top of Page