Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Organizer and Collector Contact Information
headline bar

 

The NPGS Ash Conservation Project is a group effort, involving many individuals, agencies and institutions. We would like to thank and recognize our past (and future) donors and collectors. Their help has been invaluable in building our seed collections. The following donors and collectors have consented to be acknowledged here and are willing to share contact information and their advice and experiences with those interested in making additional ash seed collections.

Mark Widrlechner began this project in 2007 at the USDA-ARS North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station in Ames, Iowa. Dr. Widrlechner retired from the USDA in 2011. The project's first point of contact is now Jeff Carstens.

NPGS Ash Conservation Project Coordination

 Jeff Carstens  Jeff Carstens, Agricultural Science Research Technician
 Email:   jeffrey.carstens@ars.usda.gov  North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station
 Phone: 515-294-3454  1305 State Ave.
 Biographical  Ames, IA 50014

NPGS Ash Conservation Project Donors and Collectors

Connecticut

 Mark H. Brand  Mark H. Brand, Professor of Horticulture
 Email:   mark.brand@uconn.edu  Dept. of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
 Phone: 860-486-2930  University of Connecticut
   1376 Storrs Road
   Storrs, CT 506269-4067

Illinois

 Kunso Kim  Kunso Kim, Head of Collections and Curator
 Email:   kkim@mortonarb.org  The Morton Arboretum
 Phone: 630-719-2435  4100 Illinois Route 53
   Lisle, IL 60532-1293

Iowa (two contacts)

 David Horst  David Horst, Horticulturist
 Email:   horticulturist@bick-arb.org  Bickelhaupt Arboretum
 Phone: 563-242-4771  340 S 14th Street
   Clinton, IA 52732-5432

 Andrew P. Schmitz  Andrew P. Schmitz, Director of Horticulture
 Email:   brentonarboretum@aol.com  Brenton Arboretum
 Phone: 515-992-4211  25141 260th St.
 Dallas Center, IA 50063

Kansas

 Jason J. Griffin  Jason J. Griffin, Associate Professor
 Email:   jgriffin@ksu.edu  Kansas State University
 Phone: 316-788-0492  John C. Pair Horticultural Center
   1901 East 95th Street South
   Haysville, KS 67060-8351

Maine

 Chuck Penney  Chuck Penney, Soil Conservationist
 Email:   charles.penney@me.usda.gov  USDA-NRCS Belfast Field Office (Waldo County)
 Phone: 207-338-1964  266 Waterville Road
   Belfast, ME 04915-1224

Maryland   (five contacts)

 Kevin Conrad  Kevin Conrad, Curator
 Email:   kevin.conrad@ars.usda.gov  Woody Landscape Plant Germplasm Repository
 Phone: 240-832-9415  10300 Baltimore Ave.
   Building 010A, Room 114
   Beltsville, MD 20705
 
 

 Richard Olsen  Richard Olsen, Research Geneticist
 Email:   richard.olsen@ars.usda.gov  Woody Landscape Plant Germplasm Repository
 Phone: 301-504-5657  10300 Baltimore Ave
 Building 010A, Room 128
 Beltsville, MD 20705

 
 Karen Williams  Karen Williams, Botanist
 Email:   karen.williams@ars.usda.gov  USDA-ARS National Germplasm Resources Lab
 Phone: 301-504-5421  10300 Baltimore Ave
   Building 003, Room 329C
   Beltsville, MD 20705
 
 
 
 Martin Scanlon  Martin Scanoln, Biological Science Lab Technician
 Email:   martin. scanlon@ars.usda.gov  Woody Landscape Plant Germplasm Repository
 Phone: 240-832-9416  10300 Baltimore Ave
 Building 010A, Room 114
 Beltsville, MD 20705
 

 Edward (Ned) Garvey  Edward Garvey, Botanist
 Email:   edward.garvey@ars.usda.gov  USDA-ARS National Germplasm Resources Lab
 Phone: 301-504-7511  10300 Baltimore Ave
   Building 003, Room 329B
   Beltsville, MD 20705

Massachusetts

 Michael Dosmann  Michael Dosmann, Curator of Living Collections
 Email:   michael_dosmann@harvard.edu  The Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University
 Phone: 617-384-5769  125 Arborway
   Jamaica Plain, MA 02130

Minnesota (two contacts)

 Andrew David  Andrew David, Associate Professor
 Email:   adavid@umn.edu  Department of Forest Resources
 Phone: 218-327-4521  North Central Research and Outreach Center
   University of Minnesota
   1861 Highway 169 East
   Grand Rapids, MN 55744

 Egon Humenberger  Egon Humenberger, Assistant Scientist
 Email:   egon.humenberger-1@umn.edu  Department of Forest Resources
 Phone: 218-327-4523  North Central Research and Outreach Center
   University of Minnesota
   1861 Highway 169 East
   Grand Rapids, MN 55744

Missouri (two contacts)

 Matthew Albrecht  Matthew Albrecht, Plant Conservation Ecologist
 Email:   matthew.albrecht@mobot.org  Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development
 Phone: 314-577-0262  Missouri Botanical Garden
   P.O. Box 299
   St. Louis, MO 63166-0299

 Scott Woodbury  Scott Woodbury, Curator
 Email:   scott.woodbury@mobot.org  Whitmire Wildflower Garden
 Phone: 636-451-3512 ext. 6078  Shaw Nature Reserve
   P.O. Box 38
   Gray Summit, MO 63039

New York

 Jeannine Strenk  Jeannine Strenk, Seed Collection Coordinator
 Email:   jeannine.strenk@parks.nyc.gov  Mid-Atlantic Regional Seed Bank
 Phone: 718-370-9044  Greenbelt Native Plant Center
   3808 Victory Boulevard
   Staten Island, NY 10314

North Carolina

 Quentin Read  Quentin Read
 Email:   quentin.read@gmail.com  1424 Acadia Street
 Phone: 919-323-0071  Durham, NC 27701
   

North Dakota

 Joseph D. Zeleznik  Joseph Zeleznik, Extension Forester
 Email:   joseph.zeleznik@dsu.edu  North Dakota State University
 Phone: 701-730-3389  212 Walster Hall
 Fargo, ND 58108

Pennsylvania

 Anthony S. Aiello  Anthony S. Aiello, Director of Horticulture and Curator
 Email:   aiello@upenn.edu  Morris Arboretum of the University of Pennsylvania
 Phone: 215-247-5777 ext. 137  9414 Meadowbrook Ave.
   Philadelphia, PA 19118

Last Modified: 11/28/2012
Footer Content Back to Top of Page