Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

2010 News
headline bar

Before you even ask–no, they don't do windows:

Soil scientist Greg McCarty of our ARS Hydrology and Remote Sensing Laboratory in Beltsville, Md., has teamed up with visiting scientist Dean Hively of the U.S. Geological Survey to combine high-tech, field sampling and farm records in a program to help clean up the Chesapeake Bay. (8/30)


(this article is compliments of ARS Newsmakers, September 3, 2010) 

A disturbing look at what's really "rolling on the river": 

Soil scientist Greg McCarty of our ARS Hydrology and Remote Sensing Laboratory at Beltsville, MD, and chemist Laura McConnell of our ARS Environmental Management and Byproducts Utilization Laboratory, also in Beltsville, have been taking a close look at what's in the water of Maryland's Choptank River Watershed, which flows into the Chesapeak BAy, and waht they've found isn't good news.


(this article is compliments of ARS Newsmakers, August 20, 2010) 

No, they're not what Superman wears to keep his ankles warm: 

Agronomist Eton Codling, microbiologist Dan Shelton and soil scientists Yakov Pachepsky and Ali Sadeghi at our ARS Animal and Natural Resources Institute in Beltsville, Md., have scored big on improving "Super Socks"–mesh tubes stuffed with compost to capture some of the silt, heavy metals, fertilizers and petroleum products that can wash from compacted surface areas into nearby streams and rivers.


(this article is compliments of ARS Newsmakers, July 23, 2010) 

BARC Poster Day!! 

BARC Poster Day was held this year on Wednesday 21 April. Poster Day provides an opportunity for Research Associates, Visiting Scientists, and recently-hired Scientists to present their research findings in a multi-disciplinary setting. It also provides an excellent opportunity to meet and interact with other members of the research community at BARC.  The Post Day was a huge success, congrats to all the winners! 

BARC Field Day!!

BARC Public Field Day is back!  This year was the twelfth Field Day and the date was Saturday, June 5, 2010 , from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  This day provided an opportunity to allow the public to learn first-hand about the exciting research that is being conducted here at BARC. 


Amy Hopkins (Institute Office) - Congratulations!!

Amy Hopkins is the 2010 Beltsville Area Office Support Professional of the Year!  She is being recognized for her outstanding performace, productivity, and support as Executive Assistant to the Animal and Natural Resources Institute Office.

Joan Lunney (APDL)- Congratulations!!

Dr. Joan Lunney of the Animal Parasitic Diseases Laboratory (APDL) in ANRI is being recognized for significant research contributions and international leadership in determining protective immune mechanisms and genetic resistance for infectious pathogens of importance to the U.S. Swine Industry.

George Liu (BFGL) - Congratulations!!

Dr. George Liu of the Bovine Functional Genomics Laboratory (BFGL) in ANRI is being recognized for conducting outstanding research on cattle genome copy number variations associated with economically-important health and production traits.

Alicia Beavers (BFGL) - Congratulations!!

Alicia Beavers of the Bovine Functional Genomics Laboratory (BFGL) in ANRI is being recognized for outstanding execution of experiments in cattle genomics research and exceptional dedication and support to ARS programs utilizing genomics instrumentation.

Andrew Russ (HRSL)- Congratulations!!

Andrew Russ of the Hydrology adn Remote Sensing Laboratory (HRSL) in ANRI is being recognized for exemplary remote sensing and field support critical for maintaining the high research productivity of the lab.

Marsha Campbell (BFGL) - Congratulations!!

Marsha Campbell of the Bovine Functional Genomics Laboratory (BFGL) in ANRI is being recognized for outstanding leadership and personal commitment to employee and environmental safety.

J.P. Dubey (APDL)- Congratulations!!

Dr. Jitender P. Dubey of the Animal Parasitic Diseases Lab has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.  As we all know, this is a tremendous honor and members are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.  Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist.  Those familiar with the remarkable career of Dr. Dubey know that this honor is well deserved.

Lillian Bacheller & Leigh Walton (AIPL) - Congratulations!!

Information Technology Specialists, received the National Dairy Herd Information Association’s 2010 Outstanding Service Award. For more than 30 years, Walton and Bacheller have provided computer expertise to support USDA’s research program on genetic evaluation of U.S. dairy animals, for which the primary data were records collected through Dairy Herd Improvement Affiliates.

Erin Connor (BFGL) - Congratulations!!

As a member of the Beltsville Area Diversity Committee, Erin Connor of BFGL was a recipient of the 2009 Administrator's Outreach, Diversity, and Equal Opportunity (ODEO) Award, which will be presented on Tuesday, June 8, 2010. 

Wade Crow (HRSL) - Congratulations!!

Research Physical Scientist Wade Crow of HRSL, has received the Journal of Hydrometeorology Editor (JHE) Award for rigorous, insightful, and timely reviews that greatly aided the editors of the journal. 

Bill Kustas (HRSL) - Congratulations!!

HRSL Research Leader, Hydrologist, Bill Kustas, has been named a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society for major accomplishments and contributions to the atmospheric and hydrologic sciences.

Thomas Jackson (HRSL) - Congratulations!!

Hydrologist, Thomas Jackson of HRSL, has been named a Fellow of the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers for specific achievements in remote sensing in hydrology.

Robert Miller (AIPL) - Congratulations!!

Collaborator, Robert Miller of AIPL, received the Distinguished Service Award at teh annual meeting of the American Society of Animal Science Northeastern branch in July 2009 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to animal science.

Duane Norman (AIPL) - Congratulations!!

Research Leader of AIPL, received the Distinguished Service Award of the American Registry of Professional Animal Scientists (Washington D.C. Area Chapter) in April 2009 for services to the animal sciences.

He also received the Distinguished Dairy Alumnus Award from the Department of Dairy and Animal Science, Pennsylvania State University, in November 2009 for his leadership in genetic evaluation research on traits of economic importance to the dairy industry.

Rex Powell (AIPL) - Congratulations!!

Collaborator, Rex Powell of AIPL, received teh International Dairy Production Award of the American Dairy Science Association at its annual meeting in July 2009 for meritorious scientific contribution to dairy production outside the United States and Canada.  Powell was employed as a Research Geneticist with AIPL for 32 years.

Jim Reeves (EMBUL) - Congratulations!!

Research Chemist, Jim Reeves of EMBUL, has won the Hirschfeld Award for NIR (near-infrared) spectroscopy, considered by most to be the most prestigious award for near-infrared research.

Jim Reeves also won the 2010 Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Achievements in NIR.

Last Modified: 6/13/2011