Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

JFSP Workshop
headline bar
Workshop on Predicting Post Wildfire Hydrology and Erosion on Semi-arid Grassland and Oak Woodlands

 

August 8-9 2006

Audubon Research Ranch, Elgin, AZ

 

AGENDA

 

Workshop Objectives: To help decision makers, land use managers, and BAER team members understand what information and technology is available to predict wildfire effects on semi-arid grasslands and oak woodlands

 

Workshop Leaders

Jerry Gottfried, Hydrologist, USFS

Phil Guertin, Hydrologist, University of Arizona

Ginger Paige, Hydrologist, University of Wyoming

Jeff Stone, Hydrologist, USDA-ARS

 

Day 1

8:00 – 8:15

Introduction - Stone

8:15 – 8:30

Overview of Joint Fire Science Program Project - Paige

8:30 - 9:15

Hydrology and erosion processes - Stone

9:15 – 10:00

Data from rainfall simulator experiment - Paige

10:00 -  10:15

BREAK

10:15 – 10:45

BAER team technologyLefevre

10:45 - 11:15

Hydrology and Erosion on Oak Woodlands - Gottfried

11:15 – 12:00

Hydrology and erosion model overview

AGWA – Guertin

ERMiT – Paige

12:00 – 1:00

LUNCH

1:00 – 5:00

Field trip to fire sites, Empire (grass) and Willow (grass)

 

Day 2

8:00 – 9:00

Observe data collection with the rainfall simulator

9:00 – 10:00

Run ERMiT

10:00 – 10:15

BREAK

10:15 – 11:30

Run ERMiT

11:30 – 12:00

Conclusions and end of workshop

                                                                                                                                                                   


Participant List

Participants

Sharon Biedenbender

FS-Sierra Vista

sbiedenbender@fs.fed.us

Emilio Carrillo

NRCS-Tucson

Emilio.Carrillo@az.usda.gov

Don Decker

NRCS-Douglas

donald.decker@az.usda.gov

Dave Degerness

Maricopa Co. Flood Control

djd@mail.maricopa.gov

Darde Deroulhac

Gila Co. Flood Control

dderoulh@co.gila.az.us

Mike Gerlach

Stantec Consulting Inc

mgerlach@stantec.com

Perry Grissom

NPS-Saguaro N.P.

Perry_Grissom@nps.gov

Jason Jones

AZ DEQ-Surface Water

jdj@azdeq.gov

Lin Lawson

AZ DEQ

Lawson.Lin@azdeq.gov

Drew Leiendecker

FS-Sierra Vista

dleiendecker@fs.fed.us

Tom Lorenz

FS-Sierra Vista

mluecker@fs.fed.us

Mike Schinstock

FS-Sierra Vista

mschinstock@fs.fed.us

Mike Luecker

NRCS-Phoenix

Mike.Luecker@az.usda.gov

Dan Robinett

NRCS-Tucson

Dan.Robinett@az.usda.gov

Allan Sanchez

Yavapai Co.

allan.sanchez@co.yavapi.az.us

Salek Shafiqullah

FS-Coronado S.O.

sshafiqullah@fs.fed.us

Sandy Steichen

Stantec Consulting Inc

ssteichen@stantec.com

William Wilcox

FS-Sierra Vista

wwilcox@fs.fed.us

Yvonne Young

AZ DEQ

Young.Yvonne@azdeq.gov

 

 

 

Presenters

Jerry Gottfried

FS-Rocky mountain Research Stn.

ggottfried@fs.fed.us

Phil Guertin

SNR-University of Arizona

phil@nexus.srnr.arizona.edu

Bob Lefevre

FS-Coronado S.O.

rlefevre@fs.fed.us

Ginger Paige

University of Wyoming

gpaige@uwyo.edu

Jeff Stone

ARS-Southwest Watershed Res.

jstone@tucson.ars.ag.gov

 


Last Modified: 8/15/2006